CAWSES-II in Japan

Information of Japanese SCOSTEP Committee, Science Council of Japan

Climate And Weather of the Sun-Earth System -II (CAWSES-II)


President/Chairman: Dr. Nat Gopalswamy
Secretary General: Dr. Marianna Shepherd

The Scientific Committee on Solar-Terrestrial Physics (SCOSTEP) was originally established as an Inter-Union Commission following a Resolution adopted at the 11th General Assembly of ICSU in Bombay in January 1966. It was modified by the 14th General Assembly of ICSU in Helsinki in 1972 to a Special Committee, and by the 17th General Assembly in 1978 to a Scientific Committee.

Its principal tasks are: to promote international interdisciplinary programmes in solar-terrestrial physics, and to organize and coordinate such programmes of interest to, and approved by, at least two of the following bodies: IAU, IUGG, IUPAP, URSI, and COSPAR (each specific programme is normally of finite duration); to define the data relating to these programmes that should be exchanged through the World Data Centres; to provide such advice as may be required by the ICSU bodies and World Data Centres concerned with these programmes; and to work with other ICSU bodies in the coordination of symposia in solar-terrestrial physics, especially on topics related to SCOSTEP's programmes.

The domestic organization corresponding to the SCOSTEP in ICSU (International Council of Scientific Unions) is Japanese SCOSTEP Committee, Science Council of Japan. The Japanese SCOSTEP Committee is composed of about 10 members with two year term.


The 22 term Japanese SCOSTEP Committee members (Oct. 1, 2011 - Sep. 30, 2013)

Tatsuki Ogino (Chair), Takuji Nakamura (Secretary), Kanya Kusano, Kazuo Shiokawa, Tsutomu Nagatsuma, Kazunari Shibata, Toshihiko Hirooka, Toshitaka Tsuda, Masahiro Hoshino, Iku Shinohara, Mamoru Yamamoto, Yukihiro Takahashi, Naoki Terada, Taro Sakao, Yoshiharu Omura, Ryoichi Fujii

The 21 term Japanese SCOSTEP Committee members (Oct. 1, 2009 - Sep. 30, 2011)

Tatsuki Ogino (Chair), Kazuo Shiokawa (Secretary), Masafumi Hirahara (Secretary), Kazunari Shibata, Toshitaka Tsuda, Mamoru Ishii, Yoshiharu Omura, Takahiro Obara, Sato Natsuo, Toshihiko Hirooka, Ryoichi Fujii, Masahiro Hoshino, Iku Shinohara, Taro Sakao, Mamoru Yamamoto, Yukihiro Takahashi, Yasumasa Kasaba, Takuji Nakamura